Double success for WHFP at Highlands and Islands Media Awards 

The West Highland Free Press scored a double success at the annual Highlands and Islands Media Awards.



Kirsty Watt won the Highland Tourism Award for producing the best entry in the newly-created Environment and Sustainability category while Angus Peter Campbell won the Bòrd na Gàidhlig Award for best use of Gaelic.

They received their awards at the Highlands and Islands Press Ball and Media Awards held at the Kingsmills Hotel, Inverness on Friday 4 February.

Newspaper of the Year is the Stornoway Gazette while Loch a Tuath News, which serves communities on the east coast of Lewis, won Community Newspaper of the Year.

Top individual award of the night went to Orcadian chief reporter Sarah Sutherland who was named Diageo Journalist of the Year. 

Journalists from the Highland News and Media Ltd picked up 2 honours. Daniel Forsyth was named Photographer of the Year and Alasdair Fraser won the Jim Love Memorial Trophy for being Reporter of the Year.

The Press and Journal also recorded a double.  Susy Macaulay is Feature Writer of the Year and Stan Arnaud, Business Reporter of the Year.  Stan is now working in public relations with Morrison Media.

The Young Journalist of the Year Award and the Alex Main Trophy went to Abigail Taylor of community newspaper, Am Paipear, which serves Uist and the Outer Hebrides. . Eilidh Davies of the BBC is Sports Reporter of the Year.

Jim Tait, recently retired News Editor of the Shetland Times, received the Barron Trophy for lifelong achievement in journalism.